SITE REVIEW COMMITTEE

To the Honorable Select Board and the Citizens of Chilmark:

The Site Review Committee is established by Article 11 of the Town's Zoning Bylaws. Its purpose is to review all proposed construction activity that takes place within the Town's Districts of Critical Planning Concern (DCPC) and supplemental zoning overlay districts. The DCPC's were created by the Martha's Vineyard Commission for the entire island to preserve the natural character and beauty of Martha's Vineyard and to protect the unique natural, historical, ecological, scientific, cultural and other "values" from developments which might impair them, while contributing to the maintenance of sound local economies and property values. The DCPC's include the roadside districts along the Town's and State's major roadways and the coastal districts of the ocean, sound and coastal salt ponds. The Committee usually meets twice each month to review each project and make determinations that evaluate the benefits or detriments of a proposed project to the specific DCPC. It issues reports to the Board of Appeals, Building Inspector and other relevant town boards with its recommendations. The Building Inspector and each board take the Committee's assessments into consideration while evaluating permit applications.

During 2021 the Site Review Committee met 17 times and rendered 33 decisions, including the following:

NEW STRUCTURES			ALTERATIONS/ADDITIONS/OTHER		
House	M11 L1.3	1	Addition	M12 L27	1
House	M25 L116	2	Addition	M18 L40	1
House	M27.1 L52	1	Addition	M25 L5	1
House	M32 L61.1	1	Addition	M26 L29	1
House	M33 L32	1	Addition	M27.1 L224	1
			Addition	M37 L4	1
Pool	M7 L57	1			
Pool	M25 L20.7	1	Alteration	M11 L21	2
Pool	M25 L55	1	Alteration	M17 L13	1
Pool	M30 L34	1	Alteration	M25 L112	1
Pool	M33 L47	1	Alteration	M29 L12	1
Pool	M35 L1.7	1	Alteration	M30 L49	1
Pickleball Court	M33 L47	1			
Guesthouse	M29 L16.2, 16.6	1			
Shed	M17 L9	1			
Shed	M26 L88	1			
Barn	M18 L40	1			
Barn	M 26 L88	3			
Barn	M33 L85	1			

Respectfully submitted,

CLARISSA ALLEN, Chair
BILL ROSSI, Selectman
SANDY BROYARD, Conservation Commission
JAN BUHRMAN, Board of Health
KATIE CARROLL, Board of Health alternate

JANET WEIDNER, Planning Board PETER COOK, Planning Board alternate RICH OSNOSS, Planning Board alternate