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Chilmark Town Hall 

401 Middle Road 
Chilmark, MA 02535 

 

The following elevator is due for inspection. 

Elevator Number:  62-W-2  

Elevator Type:  Wheel Chair  

Building:  Chilmark Town Hall  

Building Location: 401 MIDDLE ROAD, CHILMARK 

Certification Expiration:  June 30, 2021 
 

Dear Building Owner, 

 

Our records indicate that there is an elevator/lift at the location listed above and that  the Certificate 

will be expiring within the next 90 days. Applications for annual inspections are due 90 days prior to the 

expiration date of the elevator. Please check the expiration date on the Inspection Certificate issued by 

the Office of Public Safety and Inspections (OPSI); this should be posted in your elevator.  If you or your 

elevator maintenance company have already submitted an application for annual inspection to the 

OPSI you may disregard this notice. 

 

Please be advised that Massachusetts State Regulations require that all types of elevators in 

commercial buildings be inspected every year, with the exception of wheelchair lifts, LULAs, VRCs, and 

dumbwaiters which require inspection every two years.  Elevators must have a valid certificate issued by 

the Commonwealth.  Elevators/lifts must be inspected by a Massachusetts State Elevator Inspector. 

 

Effective on July 1, 2013 failure to comply with the law subjects the owner to penalties including fines of 

$100 per day that the elevator/lift is in operation without a valid certificate.  It is your responsibility to 

make sure your elevator/lift complies with Massachusetts State Regulations.  

 

If your elevator/lift is inoperable or if you simply no longer use it, pursuant to 524 CMR 11:00 it must be 

decommissioned.  Once this unit has been decommissioned, an inspection will be scheduled by OPSI. 

 

Instructions for inspection and decommissioning a unit may be found on our website under the elevator 

tab (http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/government/oca-agencies/dpl-lp/opsi/ ).  Please contact an 

elevator maintenance company of your choice to complete this process. 

 

Respectfully, 

 

Office of Public Safety and Inspections 

Elevator Division 
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